The 2014 Inkwell Award Winners Are…

The winners of the 2014 Inkwell Awards – given out to notable comic book inkers – were announced this weekend at HeroesCon in North Carolina. With six different awards up for grabs, the awards highlighted the huge amounts of talent in the inking community. And best of all, the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award went to Joe Simon and Tom Palmer. Top choices!


Here are the categories and winners:

Favorite Inker Award: Norm Rapmund. An inker best known for his work over at DC, including Superman, Justice League of America, and Action Comics.

Most-Adaptable Award: Walden Wong, whose work varies from the cartoon-happy Wolverine & The X-Men to the splashy Batwoman by way of gritty, experimental titles like Wolverine Max.

Props Awards (inker deserving of more attention): Walden Wong, whose second win at the awards hopefully means that more and more attention will be headed his way as a result!

S.P.A.M.I. Award (Small Press And Mainstream Independent): Andrew Pepoy, who works primarily at Bongo Comics on their Simpsons line, but also on books like Danger Girl.

All-in-One Award (artist who pencils and inks his or her own work): Stan Sakai, the industry legend. Known of course for Usagi Yojimbo and his more recent work 47 Ronin.

The Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award: Joe Simon and Tom Palmer.

Congratulations to all!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: