Twenty-Seven Artists Draw The Green Turtle Ahead of the Release of ‘The Shadow Hero’

Ahead of the release of Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew’s reimagining of ‘The Green Turtle’, a number of artists will be providing their own take on the character over the next few days. And when I say ‘a number of artists’ which I actually mean is that we’re talking about flippin’ artist-people like James Kochalka, Faith Erin Hicks, Fabio Moon and Roger Langridge!

Believed to be the first-ever Asian-American superhero, The Green Turtle was created in the 1940s by Chu F. Hing – but always kept his mask on, to hide the fact that he was Asian. With this imminent revival of the character – published by First Second – Liew and Yang will be unmasking him as they reveal his origin for the first time, and set him up on the path of a hero.

The resultant story will be collected in ‘The Shadow Hero’, published tomorrow.

With the first week of ‘artwork reveals’ now passed, let’s take a look at what we’ve seen so far – and which artists are still to come. And if you want to keep more up to date, the best place is over at Liew’s blog, where he’s running a new piece daily.

Tuesday, July 8
Paolo Rivera

sh01Wednesday, July 9
Roger Langridge

sh02

Thursday, July 10
Jason Caffoe

sh03

Friday, July 11
Box Brown

sh04

Saturday, July 12
MK Reed

EPSON MFP image

Sunday, July 13
James Kochalka

sh06

Monday, July 14
Jeffrey Brown

sh07

Tuesday, July 15
Steve Lieber

sh08

Wednesday, July 16
Dan Santat

sh09

Thursday, July 17
Fabio Moon

sh10

Friday, July 18
Greg Ruth

sh11

Saturday, July 19
Chris Schweizer

sh12

Sunday, July 20
Leland Myrick

sh13

Monday, July 21
Thien Pham

sh14

Tuesday, July 22
Kazu Kibuishi

sh15

Wednesday, July 23
George O’Connor

sh16

Thursday, July 24
Jonathan Hill

sh17

Friday, July 25
Robb Mommaerts

sh18

Saturday, July 26
Lark Pien

sh19

Sunday, July 27
Derek Kirk Kim

sh20

Monday, July 28
Chris Giarusso

sh21

Tuesday, July 29
Faith Erin Hicks

sh22

Wednesday, July 30
Tomer Hanuka

sh23

Thursday, July 31
Ben Hatke

sh24

Advertisements

Trackbacks

  1. […] celebrate the release of The Shadow Hero, twenty-seven different artists are doing their takes on the Green Turtle, one a day through the end of the month. Check out the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: