The 2014 Ignatz Award Nominees Are:

Stolen ruthlessly from Kevin Melrose at Robot6 (sorry Kevin! Thanks for helping me get work at CBR!), this year’s Ignatz Award nominees have been announced on the official website. Celebrating cartooning above all else, the awards will be presented and unveiled at the Small Press Expo in September.


Chosen by a panel consisting of fellow cartoonists and critics Darryl Ayo, Austin English, Melissa Mendes, Thien Pham and Whit Taylor (what a panel!), the awards nominate a variety of art forms – from webcomics to zines and anthologies. It’s a how-to guide that several other awards could possibly do with taking note of – no more of this vague silliness in your categories, guys! Follow the Ignatz Example!

Here are the nominees:

Outstanding Artist
• Sam Bosma, Fantasy Basketball
• Kim Deitch, The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley
• Sophie Goldstein, Darwin Carmichael Is Going to Hell, Edna II, House of Women
• Ed Piskor, Hip Hop Family Tree Vol. 1
• Jesse Reklaw, Couch Tag

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Amazing Facts and Beyond, Kevin Huizenga and Dan Zettwoch
• The End, Anders Nilsen
Eye of the Majestic Creature Vol. 2, Leslie Stein
Sock Monkey Treasury, Tony Millionaire
QU33R, Various (edited By Robert Kirby)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley, Kim Deitch
The Boxer, Reinhard Kleist
Boxers and Saints, Gene Luen Yang
This One Summer, Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki
War of Streets and Houses, Sophie Yanow

Outstanding Story
• “Brownout Biscuit,” from Octoups Pie: Dead Forever, Meredith Gran
Destination X, John Martz
The Grassy Knoll, Nick Drnaso
• “Jobs” from Life Zone, Simon Hanselmann
• “Mom” from Viewotron #2, Sam Sharpe

Promising New Talent
• Luke Howard, Trevor
• Cathy G. Johnson, Jeremiah, Boy Genius, Until It Runs Clear
• Nick Offerman, Orange, Onions
• Keiler Roberts, Powdered Milk
• Daryl Seitchik, Missy

Outstanding Series
The Black Feather Falls, Ellen Lindner
Demon, Jason Shiga
Powdered Milk, Keiler Roberts
Sky in Stereo, Sacha Mardou
Towerkind, Kat Verhoeven

Outstanding Comic
Blammo #8, Noah Van Sciver
Cosplayers, Dash Shaw
It Will All Hurt #2, Farel Dalrymple
Misliving Amended, Adam Buttrick
Wicked Chicken Queen, Sam Alden

Outstanding Minicomic
The Grassy Knoll, Nick Drnaso
House of Women, Sophie Goldstein
Never Forgets, Yumi Sakugawa
Test Tube #1, Carlos Gonzalez
Up to the Top, Ian Sampson

Outstanding Online Comic
Band for Life, Anya Davidson
Big Dogs at Nite, Dane Martin
Demon, Jason Shiga
On Hiatus, Pete Toms
Vattu, Evan Dahm


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: